Infant Massage

It was in December 2011, when my friend and I attended our four-day Infant Massage Training, that I decided I wanted to start this blog.

I was inspired from being around all those babies and their parents the last two days of the training. Two full days of observing babies, observing parents, and observing families. There is always so much to take in, so much to reflect on, so much to say… So I wrote the first post for this blog and decided that I was going to begin this journey.

As many of you who have read this blog from the beginning know, after that post there was almost a year of pause. Life happened!

At the end of 2012 with the encouragement of my best friend, I decided it was time to start over and share with the world my observations, thoughts and feelings about babies, parents and parenthood.

Today, I am writing because another milestone has been achieved. I am now officially certified as an Infant Massage Educator (CEIM). In order to complete the certification for Infant Massage USA you have to attend the four-day training, as well as complete a written exam, and sending in the evaluation forms from the 5 participating families. I had the chance to teach five families how to massage their infants, and it was a wonderful experience! It is always great to be able to come in to someone’s home when they have a newborn. There is so much raw emotion in the air, but mainly, a lot of hope. A parent hoping they can be the best parent they can for this new baby! I wanted to thank all families that volunteered and allowed me to reach my certification. It was great sharing that moment with you and I hope you and your babies have enjoyed massages ever since!

I am so excited to start this new chapter! This is something that truly provides me with immense joy! It truly is like the descriptions you hear about loving your job so much, that it doesn’t seem like work! I feel like that with my regular job, but with Infant Massage, it just takes it to another level! It’s being able to share such a unique moment with a parent and their baby. It’s being able to watch the parent learn new information about their baby that they had not found out yet. It’s being able to watch that baby’s eyes look intensely into the parents’ eyes and almost guessing that they are thinking “it’s great to be able to share this with you, mommy/daddy!”.

Infant Massage is a wonderful way to interact with your new baby! Everything from the initial steps to the actual massage strokes allows you and your baby to relax and enjoy each other. You get to know your baby better, because you will find out what they like and don’t like. Besides, a lot of benefits can come from massage, like improved sleep, digestion, and circulation among so many other things! Just 3 weeks ago I taught a mother of a 5 month old baby girl the massage routine at my current job. They truly enjoyed it and the mother right away noticed that the baby’s favorite was the foot massage. This week, when I saw them, I asked how the baby was doing and mom told me: “when she starts to fuss, I rub her foot, and she automatically stops“. Isn’t that amazing? Truly, it does not always work like magic, but when you do see the benefits, it is magical!

So from now on, besides offering this service to the babies and parents at work, I also hope to start offering this service privately. If you know of any new moms in the Boston area that would be interested in learning how to massage their babies, please share this page with them! Also, please follow on Facebook for updates on services. I will be posting on Facebook more about this new service and will try to update on this blog as well.

If you know someone with a baby and you want to give them a great and unique gift, consider giving them an Infant Massage session or package! And feel free to contact me for further information!

Give the TWO TINY FEET in your life, a great present! I guarantee both of you will end the massage with ONE BIG HEART! 

homerollover homerollover homerollover homerollover

3 thoughts on “Infant Massage

  1. Pingback: Liebster Award | Two tiny feet, one big heart

Leave a Reply

