Liebster Award

liebster

It was much to my surprise that I found a lovely comment on  my most recent post, nominating me for a “Liebster Award”. A big thanks to my fellow blogger Whispers from a Working Mom.

After doing some reading both on her blog and online, I realized that this a small award that a blogger can give to other bloggers that are just starting out and have less than 200 followers (although I have seen different numbers in different sources).

So here are the rules:

1. Each blogger should post 11 random facts about themselves.

2. Answer the questions the tagger has set for you, then create 11 new questions for the bloggers you pass the award to.

3. Choose 11 new bloggers (with less than 200 followers) to pass the award to and link them in your post.

4. Go to their page and tell them about the award.

5. No tag backs.

My 11 random facts: 

1. I am bilingual and bicultural, having split my existence between the US and Portugal.

2. When I was 6, I used to Tap dance.

3. When I was 16, I did Hip Hop and when I was 20 I did Salsa dancing.

4. I am a huge soccer fan, and my favorite team is Sport Lisboa e Benfica .

5. I used to help my father in his restaurant from age 16-24 and really enjoyed it.

6. Ever since I was in 8th grade I knew I wanted to be a psychologist! (Kind of weird, I know!)

7. I have been back in the US since 2008 (this time around).

8. One of my favorite foods is the most simple delight: a stew of peas, chorizo and poached eggs.

9. I am now officially addicted to Apple products and have my whole life synced up thanks to it.

10. My favorite Boston location is the Boston Common. My favorite place in Lisbon is Belem.

11. One of my favorite things to do is “people watching” (but in a good way).

Here are the questions that Whispers from a Working Mom had for me:

1. How long have you been blogging? Since December 2012, although I had another blog back in Portugal in 2006.

2. What is your favorite shampoo? Right now, an organic shampoo called Pura D’Or – it’s been great for hair loss!

3. Name a song that reminds you of high school?Tubthumping by Chumbawamba (If you can’t see this, it’s worth going on YouTube and finding this gem!)

4. Where do you see yourself in 5 years? 10 years? – Hopefully with kids and having started my own business.

5. What accomplishment are you most proud of? – Having had the courage to leave my family and start over in the US, working full-time while doing a Post-Grad at the same time!

6. How do you relax? – By watching bad, brainless TV, most of the time. In Portugal I used to like sitting by the ocean and feel the sun on my skin.

7. If you had an extra hour in the day what would you do? – Exercise! At least that’s what I say I would do.

8. What is your all time favorite Christmas gift? – Spending it with all my family!

9. If price weren’t an option, what would your dream car be? – A Volvo XC-70

10. What is your favorite book? – There are so many! But, I love “Becoming Attached” and ” The Spirit Catches you and then you fall down”.

11. When was the last time you did a shot of alcohol?  With who? – The last shot was probably in  October with my uncle and cousins at my aunt and uncle’s 25th Wedding Anniversary! Good times!

Here are my nominees for the Liebster Award:

Life Happens (Portugal)

Hello Little Mister

Balance and Grace

Vickie Wade Fine Art

Object Permanence Blog

Questionable Choices in Parenting

Born in 2011

Defining Motherhood

My Journey as a First Time Mom

This Queer Familia

MaeGyver (Portugal)

Finally, to finish here are my questions for my nominees!

1. What made you start a blog?

2. What is your favorite color?

3. What is your favorite food?

4. What was the toughest lesson you have learned in your life?

5. What was the happiest moment of your life?

6. If you could do anything in the world, what would it be?

7. What is the one thing that always makes you smile?

8. What’s your favorite childhood memory?

9. If you had to choose between chocolate cake or a big dish of pasta with your favorite sauce and ingredients  which would you choose?

10. What is your dream travel destination?

11. Would you prefer to live in the city, suburbs, beach or wilderness?

It was fun to think about all these random facts and share a little bit more of myself with my readers! I hope the nominees enjoy the experience, as well!

4 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Many thanks for the nomination. I’ve jumped through the hoops on that one before so I’m going to cheat a little and simply offer my gratitude for your kindness and my responses to your questions:
    1. What made you start a blog?
    I wanted a way to capture the moments that make up the years. Mothering brings different things on different days and I wanted to try to capture some of those things in words so that I can remember the marvelous and the minutia years from now when time has dulled the sharp edges of the joy, doubt, and exhaustion of this season of my life.
    2. What is your favorite color?
    Brown. Lots of good things are brown: Soil. Chocolate. Husband’s eyes.
    3. What is your favorite food?
    I am a fan of any food I was not required to cook. A meal cooked by a friend is the most delicious treat. I miss the days right after the births of our children when people dropped off meals. I don’t miss them enough to have another kid, but I might voluntarily break a bone and see if I could work that angle for some meal sympathy.
    4. What was the toughest lesson you have learned in your life?
    That loving someone isn’t enough to make them a good marriage partner. When I was young, I believed that I would fall in love with one person and that person would become my spouse. Learning that it was possible to fall in love with someone who was a terrible match as a life partner was a tough (but important!) lesson.
    5. What was the happiest moment of your life?
    These days, it’s not about the happiest or biggest or most… Knowing Husband is my perfect match, the birth of a child (twice), watching our kids act with compassion, discovering something new, enjoying a moment of quiet – each of these things makes me happy. I prefer to think about the string of small, happy moments I’ve enjoyed on this journey rather than try to pick a winner.
    6. If you could do anything in the world, what would it be?
    Be in two places at once. Perhaps three places.
    7. What is the one thing that always makes you smile?
    Colin Firth as Mr. Darcy.
    8. What’s your favorite childhood memory?
    My most traumatic memory is of being kidnapped by a masked man who entered through a window. Turned out to be a prank my brothers cooked up while babysitting one night. It has become a favorite because it gives me lots of guilt leverage over my brothers now that we are all parents and realize how truly terrible their prank was. 
    9. If you had to choose between chocolate cake or a big dish of pasta with your favorite sauce and ingredients which would you choose?
    Why must I choose?
    10. What is your dream travel destination?
    Peru is high on my list. And Thailand. The world is big, there is much to see.
    11. Would you prefer to live in the city, suburbs, beach or wilderness?
    I love living in a city. Someday I’d like to live in a rural area with a goat. The extremes suit me….but I could never return to the suburbs.

  2. Thank you so much for your sincere introspective answers to my questions. It is always great to learn from others why they make certain choices and what they value and look forward to. It gives you not only a deeper understanding of where that person is coming from, but also gives you an opportunity to reflect about yourself. Thank you for sharing!

  3. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it
    up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back later. Many thanks

    • Thank you so much for your feedback! It’s always encouraging to know that others appreciate your work. I have been away for 2 weeks, but will be coming back soon! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

