Being Pregnant: 2nd trimester must-haves

There are so many things that a pregnant woman needs to feel more comfortable. Here is the list of my must-haves for the 2nd trimester.

1. Maternity Clothes

Granted, not everyone needs it right away (or so they say! Yes, because it can’t feel that comfortable to fit into your regular pants… just saying), but I thought it was a blessing. I have to say, I thought I would hate wearing maternity clothes, but I am loving it! Far away times those where maternity clothes were synonymous of sack of potatoes. There is really a lot of cute stuff out there for every style and for me it made me even a better shopper. I tried to buy things in the same color palettes so I could mix and match all of it and have more outfit options with less clothes (need to bring this lesson along to the non-maternity clothes).

maternity jeans

There are not a lot of shops to go around and try things on. There is a lot of online shopping or very small maternity sections in different stores, except for Motherhood that is the only big retailer all for pregnant ladies. I have to say, it hasn’t been my favorite, though. I like that they carry a lot of the full panel bottoms, but their sizes are not the best fit. They sell Small, Medium, Large vs other stores that sell by number sizes… so sometimes their fit isn’t the best. But for tops, nursing bras and pajamas, you can find a lot of great stuff.

I have to say one of my favorites was the Gap, where I found a ton of stylish clothes for reasonable prices (especially if you open their store card that gives you a lot of discounts and perks). The disadvantage, they sell more of the semi-panels, which were fine for the 2nd trimester, but started getting more uncomfortable towards the beginning of the third. For cheap, simple pair of maternity jeans: Old Navy (in picture). I also like Target, but their maternity section is pretty small and won’t be enough to get a wardrobe going.

2. Birkenstock 

So being pregnant in the summer… is a challenge! Your body temperature is already elevated because of the growing being in your belly, add to

Birkenstockthat those hot, humid summer days… and let’s just say you feel like hiding in your house with the A/C blasting. Besides, to add to the already expanding feet (yes, I mean feet. It’s not a myth that your feet start not to fit in your regular shoes), the swelling of those summer days do not add up to nice and stylish shoes. However, there was one pair that I have been faithful to all summer long: my beloved Birkenstock’s. Easy to put on and take off your feet (without bending, which is a blessing once you are further along), they are so comfortable and wide! They have been my best friend all summer long. Totally recommend a pair if you are going to be pregnant during the summer.

3. Palmer’s Cocoa Butter Formula

Palmer's Cocoa Butter

So I have heard several theories regarding stretch marks and the latest is that it is hereditary. Basically, that you will get them or not depending on your genes and not on how much lotion you spread on your belly. Either way, one, I would rather be safe than sorry and two, your skin is going to need hydrating either way. It will be stretching, it will be itchy… and for me, Palmer’s has been the go to. I love the consistency and smell of it and it really helps with the itching.

 

4. Books 

Nothing like taking some time to read about what’s going on with your body like during the 2nd trimester. I plan on reviewing some books that I have read in the future of this blog. But, for a good week-by-week book, I have enjoyed “Your Pregnancy Week by Week” by Glade Curtis & Judith Schuler. It keeps you on track about changes that happen and are expected each week. I found that it fit my needs better than the traditional “What to Expect When you Are Expecting”.

I have other suggestions for books about childbirth, breastfeeding, and psychology of motherhood, but those are for another postings…

5. Pillows!!!

My final must-have for the 2nd trimester (and 3rd) are pillows! I ended up not buying a special pregnancy pillow, so won’t comment on brands, but either you buy a special pillow or just stack up on regular pillows. You will need them. I have been sleeping with three and it’s been working for me. Two under my head, so it is more elevated to avoid heartburn and other discomforts and another one between my legs/under my belly for extra support and comfort. You just have to try it out, see what works for you and lets you get the extra zzzz’s.

 

I am now on my way towards week 32, so have been living the third trimester. Can’t wait to tell you all about it!

4 thoughts on “Being Pregnant: 2nd trimester must-haves

  1. Pingback: Being Pregnant: 3rd Trimester must-haves | Two tiny feet, one big heart

Leave a Reply

