Book Recommendation: The Nursing’s Mother Companion

nursing mother

As part of both my job and now my new role as a pregnant women, I end up reading several books on motherhood, parenting, child development, etc. This book, The Nursing Mother’s Companion, by Kathleen Huggins, was lent to me by a great friend that also happens to be a doula and aspiring midwife. We were talking about breastfeeding and questions about pumping and she kindly offered to lend me this book as a “must-read” while pregnant.

I have to agree with her. The book is very well written and detailed about everything someone would want or need to know while breastfeeding. It has great images that illustrate the techniques described and has a wonderful break-down of the most important issues that arise during specific times – 1st week, 1st two months,  etc.

It really breaks it down to the essential things you need to know and I love when a book is that practical. It will show you the most effective positions to breast-feed in, give you suggestions for common issues like: engorgement, sore nipples, babies with sucking problems, etc. I also love that is doesn’t stop there and then takes you into the pumping phase and the weaning phase. It literally is a companion for the whole time you breastfeed.

I thought it was a great read and now have to return the book to its owner. However, I have a serious feeling that I will be downloading it after the baby comes. There is so much rich information in there that I know this is where I would turn to if I were having any breastfeeding difficulties.  Hopefully I would also be able to get access to direct services at the practice I attend that has a part-time lactation consultant. Always look in your community for extra support. As good as the book may be, being able to talk to someone about your difficulties and having them show you hands-on what you can do, is so important and helpful.

So if your curiosity was sparked by this post and you feel like you want to do some reading, you can find it on Amazon for $11.83 paperback version or $9.32 for Kindle.

Happy reading!

One thought on “Book Recommendation: The Nursing’s Mother Companion

  1. Pingback: Book Recommendation: The Nursing Mother’s Companion | The Loving Nest

Leave a Reply

